First United Nations Conference on the Law of the Sea


The meeting began the first round of treaty-based ocean lawmaking in which different countries participated in as equals. The conference adopted four conventions on the law of the sea: the Convention on the Territorial Sea and the Contiguous Zone, the Convention on the High Seas, Convention on the Fishing and Conservation of High Seas Biological Resources and the Continental Shelf Convention. These four conventions are also known as the “Geneva Conventions”, and most of the rules they form are traditional customary rules of the law of the sea.